Skip to main content
Updated in 4.97 The Live Agent handover provider bridges Cognigy with the native contact center Cognigy Live Agent, enabling end users to connect with human agents working within the Cognigy Live Agent contact center.

Key Benefits

  • Deep Cognigy Integration. Offers superior compatibility with Cognigy compared to other handover services, creating a cohesive ecosystem for collaboration between AI Agents and human agents.
  • Rapid Deployment. Allows you to configure a Live Agent Inbox within a Cognigy Project quickly, reducing setup time and technical overhead.
  • AI-Powered Support for Human Agents. Features an AI Agent that helps human agents in real time, improving response quality and reducing agent workload.
  • User-Friendly Administration. Offers an intuitive interface for creating and managing accounts, as well as adding and overseeing human agents with minimal complexity.

Prerequisites

Get Started with Cognigy Live Agent

To get started with Cognigy Live Agent, go to the Getting Started guide.

Configuration on the Cognigy Side

  1. In the left-side menu of the Cognigy interface, select Deploy > Handover Providers.
  2. Click + New Handover Provider and select Live Agent.
  3. Enter a unique name and click Save.
  4. (Optional) Activate Handover to pre-configured Live Agent account to transfer conversations to the Live Agent account mapped to your Cognigy organization. Otherwise, deactivate this option and fill in the following fields:
    • Base URL — the Live Agent installation URL, extended by /api/v1. For example, https://liveagent-trial.cognigy.ai/api/v1. See Handover Configuration.
    • Account ID — the account ID that you find in Live Agent. See Find an Account ID.
    • Live Agent Authentication — select a Live Agent connection, or create one by clicking add Live Agent connection and entering the API Key that you find in Live Agent. See Find API Keys.
  1. In the Handover to Human Agent Node, select Live Agent in the Handover Provider list. The Live Agent-specific parameters appear.
  2. In Live Agent Inbox Id, enter the Inbox ID of the Inbox you created for your Live Agent account.
  3. (Optional) Configure the following:
    • Skills — enter a list of skills that should be used to filter the available agents. For example, technical support, billing.
    • Languages — enter a list of languages that should be used to filter the available agents. For example, english, spanish.
    • Priority — select a priority for the conversation from the list. For example, Urgent.
    • Get Queue Position — activate to allow the system to retrieve the end user’s current queue position. This setting is inactive by default.
    • Update Interval (Queue Position) — set the interval, in seconds, for how often to receive updates on the queue status. This setting appears if Get Queue Position is selected.
    • Get Estimated Wait Time — activate to retrieve the estimated wait time for the end user. This setting is inactive by default.
    • Update Interval (Estimated Wait Time) — set the interval, in seconds, for how often to receive updates on estimated wait time. This setting appears if Get Estimated Wait Time is selected.
    • Alternative Update — activate alternative update options for when certain conditions are met. This setting is inactive by default.
    • Maximum Queue Position — set the threshold for the maximum queue position. If this threshold is reached, the alternative text is sent. This setting appears if Alternative Update is selected.
    • Maximum Estimated Wait Time — set the maximum estimated wait time in milliseconds. If this duration is exceeded, the alternative text is sent. This setting appears if Alternative Update is selected.
    • Alternative Text — set the message to send when either the maximum queue position or maximum wait time is reached. This setting appears if Alternative Update is selected.
    • Enable User Connects Message — notify human agents when an end user reconnects to the chat. Enabled by default. When enabled, the message User joined the conversation appears in the chat as soon as the end user returns to the chat tab after opening a new URL on the same tab.
    • Enable User Disconnects Message — notify human agents when an end user disconnects from the chat. Enabled by default. When enabled, the message User left the conversation appears as soon as the end user closes the chat tab or switches to a new URL in the current tab.
  4. Click Save.
For more information on queue position and estimated wait time settings, see Real-Time Queue Notifications.

More Information

Last modified on September 14, 2026