Skip to content

Manual Mode

Manual mode can be helpful in scenarios requiring specialized expertise, urgent or high-priority cases, complex or sensitive issues, and or key customers. It enables organizations to provide personalized support, optimize customer experience, and efficiently handle conversations.

In manual mode, conversation can be manually assigned or reassigned to any users with the Live Agent roles: Agent, Supervisor, or Administrator.

Manual Assignment

You can manually assign a conversation to an agent or team by following these steps:

  1. In the left-side menu of Live Agent, click Conversations.
  2. Go to the relevant conversation.
  3. In the Details menu, go to the Conversation Actions section.
  4. From the Assigned Agent list, select an agent that should be assigned to this conversation. If you want to assign the conversation to yourself, click โ†’ Assign to me above the list.
  5. From the Assigned Team list, select a team that can be assigned to this conversation. The previously selected agent should be a part of this team.

After the assignment, the agent or a team can receive a notification.

Manual Reassignment

You can manually reassign a conversation to an agent or team by following these steps:

  1. In the left-side menu of Live Agent, click Conversations and go to the relevant conversation.
  2. In the Details menu, go to the Conversation Actions section.
  3. From the Assigned Agent list, select a new agent that should be assigned to this conversation.
  4. From the Assigned Team list, select a new team to be assigned to this conversation. The previously selected agent should be a part of this team.

If the conversation is reassigned, the agent or a team can receive a notification.

Manual Unassignment

You can manually unassign a conversation to an agent or team by following these steps:

  1. In the left-side menu of Live Agent, click Conversations and go to the relevant conversation.
  2. In the Details menu, go to the Conversation Actions section.
  3. Above the Assigned Agent list, click โ†’ Unassign.
  4. Above the list Assigned Team, click โ†’ Unassign.

If the Unassign value appears in the Assigned Agent list, the conversation will be displayed in the list of unassigned conversations.

More Information